Forums / Unrelated / Offtopic / Wanted to introduce myself

An introduction to who I am.

Mynt
#1 2009-08-17 18:35
Hi Cotonti Community,

I wanted to give a shout out to everyone. I have been using this original core when it was called LDU, then watched it evolve into Sedito and continued watching as it became Cotonti. I have used the backbone for a bunch of websites modifying the core to my liking, and developing custom user applications. I used to work with 2advanced's (Eric) in webdesign, then started my own webfirm back in 2000. After much success, I decided to go freelance, as I like to work solo, rather than in groups on projects. I quickly became interested with AkiRa from Akira Powered, as he was modifying the stock e107 system to his liking. After working with him he launched Tempest which replaces the entire e107 template system with straight CSS.

I am a 22 year old programmer who has been programming since the age of 14. The first language I learned was BASIC and the first program I remember creating that was worth anything was a reverse C module. It used the Boomerang framework to rehash the memmory as it ran and psuedo C style the ASM dumps. From there, I was fascinated making things work on the computer. In 2000 I met a guy named Tom Fulp from newgrounds.com who was looking avidly for someone to work on security for his site. He mentioned his website was programmed in PHP and I had absolutly no knowledge of PHP, just HTML Java, and a little bit of SQL experiance from when I taught myself VB with a SQL plug. He introduced me to his friend who originally programmed the site. Ross. Ross became my mentor teaching me PHP the fast and easy way using a basic crash course. To this day I still believe he is one of the best PHP Programmers I have ever met. Since that day I have been working with PHP almost every single day.